
<About PC Paint>
 PC Paint is a Drawing and Painting application with enhanced tools. This Software is developed by Indian Institute of Software Technology. This application is a part of IIST School Pack. Yet it can be installed separately.

<Select Tool>
 The Select Tool is used to select a rectangular region of the Drawing Area for Move, Cut, Copy and Apply Effects

====================================================
           Steps to Use the Select Tool
====================================================
Step 1: Click on the Select tool
Step 2: Drag the mouse on the Drawing Area



Note: Now the region inside of the Rectangluar area is selected. The Selected area can be Modified as below.

Step 1: Moved By dragging
Step 2: Cut  or Copied for Pasting
Step 3: Modified by Special Effects

<Pick Color Tool>
 It is used to select a color from the drawing area and set it for drawing color or Fill Color

==================================================
    Change Drawing Color Using Pick Color Tool
==================================================
Step 1: Select the pick color tool from the toolbox.
Step 2: Select the color by clicking on the color         from drawing area.

==================================================
  Change Fill Color Using Pick Color Tool
==================================================
Step 1: Select the pick color tool from the toolbox.
Step 2: Select the color by clicking on the color from drawing area.

<Pencil Tool>
 The pencil tool is used for free hand drawing. For this select the pencil tool and drag the mouse in the drawing area. Color and draw width also can be changed before drawing.

====================================================
           Steps to use the Pencil Tool
====================================================

step 1: Select the Pencil Tool from the toolbox.
Step 2: Select a color from the Color box.
Step 3: Select a the Draw Width by Moving The Slider
        of Draw Width.
Step 4: Drag the mouse pointer in the drawing area.


Note: Step 2 and Step 3 Can be Skipped to use the current Color and Current Draw Width for drawing


<Spray Color Tool>
 The Spray Color tool is used to spray color in your drawing.Color and draw width also can be changed before drawing.

===================================================
 Steps to use the Spray Color Tool
===================================================
step 1: Select the spray color tool from the                 toolbox.
Step 2: Select a color from the Color box.
Step 3: Drag the mouse pointer in the drawing area.



<Line Tool>
 It is used to draw a straight Line.

====================================================
        Steps to draw a straight line
====================================================
Step 1: Select the line tool from the toolbox. 
        (The mouse pointer changes to plus symbol.)
Step 2: Select color for your line
        Select line style and 
        Select line width.
Step 3: Click and drag the mouse from one place to           another
(A Straight Line Appears after releasing the mouse button)

<Rectangle Tool>
 It is used to draw a rectangle or square
====================================================
          Steps to draw a rectangle
====================================================
Step 1: Select the rectangle tool from the toolbox.
        (The mouse pointer changes to plus symbol)
Step 2: Select color for your outline
        Select line style and 
        Select line width 
        If you want filled rectangle then
        select fill color by right clicking
        on the required color and 
        Select the fill style.
Step 3: Drag the mouse diagonally to draw a
        rectangle.

<Ellipse Tool>
It is used to draw an ellipse or Circle
====================================================
            Steps to draw an ellipse
====================================================
Step 1: Select the Ellipse tool from the toolbox.
Step 2: Select color for your outline
        Select line style and 
        Select line width. 
Step 3: If you want filled ellipse then 
        Select fill color by right clicking on colors
        And select the fill style.
Step 4: Drag the mouse diagonally.

<Arrow Tool>
It is used to draw an arrow.
====================================================
              Steps to draw an arrow
====================================================
Step 1: Select the Arrow tool from the Toolbox. 
        The mouse pointer changes to plus symbol.
Step 2: Select color for your line, select line              style 
        And select line width. And etc 
Step 3: Click and drag the mouse from one place to
        another to draw an arrow.

<Text Tool>
Text can be entered in the drawing  by using the text tool.
====================================================
                Steps to Enter Text
====================================================
Step 1: Select the Text tool from the Toolbox. 
Step 2: Click on the drawing area. You will get a
        cursor in the drawing area.
Step 3: Select a color for your text
        by clicking on a color.
Step 4: Type the text you want.
Step 5  Press the Enter Key 

         Text size, style and other attributes can be changed  using the Font dialog box.

To get Font dialog box, click on font option of format menu


<Brush Tool>
The brush tool is used for free hand painting. Select the brush tool and shape, then drag the mouse in the drawing area.


<Magnifier Tool>
The magnifier tool is used to view your drawing in enlarged format.

Zoom In:  Select the magnifier tool and 
          click on the Screen to Zoom in

Zoom Out: Select the magnifier tool and 
          click(With Ctrl Key) on the 
          Screen to Zoom out


<Flood Fill Tool>
Any closed figure can be filled with any selected color using the Flood Fill tool.
 
====================================================
          Steps to fill a closed area
====================================================
Step 1: Select the Flood Fill tool from the Toolbox.
        The mouse pointer changes to mug symbol.
Step 2: Select color you want to fill 
        by right clicking on the color.
Step 3: Select fill style.
Step 4: Click inside in the closed area to fill. 

The closed area will be filled by the selected color and selected style.

<Eraser Tool>
The Eraser tool is used to erase a part of your drawing. Select the eraser tool, then drag the mouse in the drawing area to erase.


<Stamp Tool>
The stamp tool is used to add an image to the drawing area.
====================================================
          Steps to use the Stamp Tool
====================================================
Step 1: Select the Stamp tool from the Toolbox.
        List of stamps appears at the right pane.
Step 2: Select a stamp. And bring the mouse pointer
        inside the drawing area,
        A Floating stamp  appears along with 
        the mouse pointer.
Step 3: Click on the drawing area to fix the stamp.

<Rounded Rectangle Tool>
Rounded Rectangles can be drawn by using 
the Rounded Rectangle tool.
====================================================
          Steps to draw a Rounded Rectangle
====================================================
Step 1: Select the rectangle tool from the toolbox.
        (The mouse pointer changes to plus symbol)
Step 2: Select color for your outline
        Select line style and 
        Select line width 
        If you want filled rectangle then
        select fill color by right clicking
        on the required color and 
        Select the fill style.
Step 3: Drag the mouse diagonally to draw a
        rectangle.


<Polygon Tool>
Polygon is used to to draw  polygons.A polygon can have many sides.
====================================================
          Steps to fill a Polygon
====================================================
Step 1: Select the Polygon tool from the Toolbox. 
Step 2: Select color for your outline,
        Select line style and select line width.
        If you want filled polygon then 
        select fill color by right clicking on colors
        and select the fill style.
Step 3: Click at different point to draw more sides.
Step 4: Double click to complete the polygon.
       (When you double click the last point joins 
        with the first point.)


<Curve Tool>
The curve tool is used to draw  curves .
====================================================
          Steps to fill a Curve
====================================================
Step 1: Select the Curve tool from the Toolbox. 
Step 2: Select color for your curve, select line
        style and select line width. 
Step 3: Click on the drawing area. 
        A curve appears on the screen with four
        handles. Drag the handles to change the
        shape of the curve.
Step 4: Double click to draw the curve.

<Background Tool>
The background tool is used to add background 
in your drawing.
====================================================
            Steps to add a Background
====================================================
Step 1: Select the Background tool from the Toolbox
        A List of backgrounds appears 
        at the right pane.
Step 2: Select a background by clicking. 
        The image will be set as background.

<Moving a picture>
====================================================
          Steps to move a Part of a Picture
====================================================
Step 1: Select the Select tool from the Toolbox. 
Step 2: Select the region by dragging the mouse
        diagonally. 
Step 3: Drag the selected region to a different
        location. Then click outside of the 
        selected region.

<Open a New File>
To open a new file in PC Paint, follow the given ====================================================
            Steps to Open a New File
====================================================
Step 1: Click on File menu
Step 2: Click on New. 
  (Or)
Step 1: Click on the New button on the Standard
        toolbar.

<Save a file>
====================================================
                Steps to Save a File
====================================================
Step 1: Click on the File menu.
Step 2: Click on Save.
  (or)
Step 1: Click on the save button on the standard 
        tool bar.
----------------------------------------------------
Note : If the file is not saved before, then the Save As dialog box appears. Enter the filename and click on Save. The file will be saved under the name.

<Open an Existing File>
====================================================
               Steps to Open a File
====================================================
Step 1: Click on the File menu
Step 2: Click on Open. (The open dialog box appears)
Step 3: Locate the file, then click open
  (or)
Step 1: Click on the open button the standard 
        toolbar.
Step 2: Click on Open. (The open dialog box appears)
Step 3: Locate the file, then click open

<Closing PC Paint>
Click on the cross icon at the top right corner to close the PC Paint 
   (Or)
Use the keyboard shortcut Alt+ F4 key to close the PC Paint application.

If the file is not saved, then a dialog box appears with  Options "Yes" , "No"  and Cancel 

1. Click Yes:     To save the file.
2. Click No:     To close PC Paint without saving.
3. Click Cancel  To remain in PC Paint without
                   closing it.


<Copy - Paste>
====================================================
               Steps to Copy and Paste
====================================================
Step 1: Select the region. 
Step 2: Click on copy button from the standard
        toolbar. 
Step 3: Click on paste button. A copy of the
        selected region appears.
Step 4: Relocate the pasted region by dragging.
Step 5: Click outside to fix.



<Cut - Paste>
====================================================
               Steps to Cut and Paste
====================================================
Step 1: Select the region. 
Step 2: Click on cut button from the standard
        toolbar. The selected region will be deleted.
Step 3: Click on paste button. A copy of the
        selected region will appears at the left top
        of drawing area.
Step 4: Relocate the pasted region by dragging.
        Click outside to fix.

<Undo>
The undo command cancels the last action.

By clicking the undo button from the standard toolbar
To undo the last action
                  Or 
Click on undo option in Edit menu 

<Redo>
The Redo command cancels the last undo.

By clicking the redo button from the standard toolbar you can redo. 

                  Or 
Click on redo option in Edit menu 


<Clear All Button>
The entire screen can be cleared by clicking the Clear All button. The Clear all button is on the standard tool bar



<Set as Desktop background>
The "Set as Desktop Background: button is on the standard tool bar.The image drawn in the drawing area will be set as desktop background by clicking this button.


<Emboss>
To apply emboss effect, select the region and click on the emboss button. 



<Grayscale Effect>
To apply grayscale effect, select the region and click on the grayscale button. Here the colour is replaced with equivalent black.



<Invert Effect>
To apply invert effect, select the region and click on the invert button. It outputs the negative of the picture.



<Flip Vertical>
To flip vertical, select the region and click on the flip vertical button.



<Flip Horizontal>
To flip horizontal, select the region and click on the flip horizontal button.



<Wave Effect>
To apply wave effect, select the region and click on the wave button.If nothing is delected, The wave effect will be applied to the Whole Image. 

<Tools>
The following 18 tools are available in the toolbox.
----------------------------------------------------
No | Tool Name        |     Use                    |
---------------------------------------------------- 
01. Select            :Select a Region
02. Pick Color        :Select Color from the Screen
03. Pencil            :Free hand drawing
04. Spray Color       :Spray Colors
05. Line              :Draw Straight Line
06. Rectangle         :Draw Rectangle and square
07. Ellipse           :Draw Ellipse and Circle    
08. Text              :Enter Text
09. Brush             :Free Hand Painting
10. Magnifier         :Zoom In or Zoom Out
11. Flood Fill        :Fill a Closed Region
12. Eraser            :Erase part of Drawing
13. Stamp             :Add a picture like a stamp
14. Arrow             :Draw an Arrow
15. Rounded Rectangle :Draws a Rectangle
16. Polygon           :Draws a Polygon
17. Curve             :Draws a curve
18. Background        :Adds a background Picture
----------------------------------------------------